

Elected Officials Across the State Join Call for Peaceful and Fair Vote Count

Media Contact: Kyle Johnson, BLOC

Milwaukee, Wis.—From Racine to Hudson and Alderperson to State Treasurer, Wisconsin elected officials from all walks of life are coming together to answer our call for every vote to be counted ahead of the General Election.

These 67 elected officials have united across race, gender, and geography to protect democracy and ensure that the will of the people prevails. Although counting votes may take a little bit longer than usual this year, due to the unprecedented number of Wisconsinites opting for absentee ballots amidst a global pandemic, our elected leaders know that our state and our country must be places where everyone counts and every vote is counted.

Led by Milwaukee-based community organization BLOC (Black Leaders Organizing for Communities), grassroots groups statewide are organizing to deliver democracy and swear in a government elected by and for the people. Although certain politicians may try to undermine our democracy and silence our voices, Wisconsinites know that we are stronger together. Urban and rural, Black, white, and brown, we are joining together to vote in record numbers and build a better future.

Said Kyle Avery Johnson, BLOC statewide organizer and coordinator of the effort, "Representatives from all parts of the state are hearing the call for a fair count and have come together with a clear message—every voter must have their voice heard and vote counted and it is the will of the people that decides."

See the pledge and list of signatories below:

The Pledae:

From Milwaukee to Bayfield, Wisconsinites from all walks of life are uniting to lift our voices and cast votes for an America where everyone counts, and where every vote is counted, no exceptions. People across our state have called* on Wisconsin's elected officials to protect the integrity of our elections and we have accepted their call. As representatives of the people, we affirm our commitment to ensure a peaceful and legitimate election in which every vote is counted so that we can swear in a government of, by and for the people.

*Link: Wisconsin Count on Us Pledge:

https://sign.moveon.org/petitions/wisconsin-count-every-vote

Signatories: full list on Sunday eve/Monday morn

Sarah Godlewski, State Treasurer Anissa Welch, Mayor of Milton Tim Kabat, Mayor of La Crosse

Amanda Stuck, State Representative

Chris Larson, State Senator Jeff Smith, State Senator

Tim Carpenter, State Senator

Christine Sinicki, State Representative

Dave Considine, State Representative, 81st District

David Bowen, State Representative

Greta Neubauer, State Representative,

Jimmy Anderson, State Representative

JoCasta Zamarripa, State Representative and Milwaukee Alderwoman

Jodi Emerson, State Representative

Jonathon Brostoff, State Representative

Katrina Shankland, State Representative, 71st District

Lisa Subeck, State Representative

Mark Spreitzer, State Representative, 45th District

Melissa Agard Sargent, State Representative

Jill Billings, State Representative, 95th District

Steve Doyle, State Representative

Bob Peterson, City-wide Representative on the Milwaukee Board of School Directors

Clinton Anderson, Beloit City Council Vice President

John Tate II, Racine Common Council President

Kyle Larsen, Beloit School Board President

Monica Kruse, La Crosse County Board Chair

Kriss Marion, Lafavette County Supervisor

Carolyn Clow, Trustee, Village of McFarland

Chantia Lewis, Alderwoman of the New 9th MKE

Chris M. Zindorf, Juneau County Supervisor District 7

Danielle Bailey, Glendale- River Hills School Board Member

Diane Odeen, River Falls Alderperson at Large

Doug Wilde, Rock County Board Supervisor, District 23

Edwin Santiago, Jr. Racine District 4 Alderperson

Erin Gallagher, Darlington Alderperson

Fabi Maldonado, Racine County Supervisor

Jacob Taylor, Rock County Supervisor

Jennifer Priesgen, Lomira Village Board Trustee

Jessica Carpenter, Shorewood Village Trustee

Jill Gaskell. Member of the Pecatonica Area School Board

Joyce Hall, City of Hudson District 6 Alderperson

Kari Ives, Chippewa County Board Supervisor

Kate Cronin, Alder, City of Verona

Kate Lewandowski, Waterloo Board of Education Director

Kate McGinnity, Dane County Supervisor

Keonte Turner, Member of the La Crosse School District Board of Education

Koby Schellenger, Winnebago County Board Supervisor

Kristen Keyser, West Allis-West Milwaukee School Board

Kristina Shelton, Vice President, Green Bay School Board

Lindsay Lemmer, Madison Alder

Mary Land, Racine Alder

Meagan Holman O'Reilly, Alderperson, City of Wauwatosa

Megan Miller, Vice President of the Beloit Board of Education

Melissa Lemke, Racine City Council

Molly Grupe, Monona Alder

Natalia Taft, Alderperson, Racine 13th District

Nick Demske, Racine County Supervisor

Nicki Vander Meulen, MMSD Clerk

Paula Phillips, Milwaukee Board of School Directors

Robert Hansen, Greenfield School Board Member

Stephanie Aegerter, Rock County Supervisor, District 25

Stephanie Spellman, Winnebago County Supervisor

Tammy Bockhorst, Shorewood Village Trustee

Timothy J. Hall, St, Croix County Supervisor, District 6

Trevor Jung, Alderperson, Racine 9th District

Yuri Rashkin, Rock County Supervisor

Zoe Roberts, Eau Claire County Board Supervisor