

P.O. BOX 8952 • MADISON, WI 53708

May 8, 2020

Senator Ron Johnson	Senator Tammy Baldwin	Congressman Mark Pocan
328 Hart Senate Office Building	709 Hart Senate Office Building	1421 Longworth H.O.B.
Washington, DC 20510	Washington, DC 20510	Washington, DC 20515
Congressman Bryan Steil	Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner	Congressman Glenn Grothman
1408 Longworth H.O.B.	2449 Rayburn H.O.B.	1427 Longworth H.O.B.
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515
Congressman Ron Kind	Congresswoman Gwen Moore	Congressman Mike Gallagher
1502 Longworth H.O.B.	2252 Rayburn H.O.B.	1230 Longworth H.O.B.
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515

Dear Honorable Members of the Wisconsin Congressional Delegation:

We are writing you today to request that you prioritize higher education funding in the next COVID-19 relief legislation. We appreciate your leadership and advocacy during this challenging time.

Due to the COVID-19 public health emergency, our higher education institutions are faced with new and significant challenges, including strained financial resources and the logistics of transitioning to all distance learning. In recent weeks, the University of Wisconsin System has announced that it is expecting to lose approximately \$170 million in revenue from the spring semester alone due to COVID-19, and that is only expected to increase. This includes refunds for housing and dining services, as well as losses from college sports revenues. We hope we can count on your help to address these budgetary shortfalls.

We are grateful that the CARES Act provided a significant investment for higher education institutions, a total of \$186 million across all institutions. Specifically, \$47 million for student emergency grants and \$47 million for the UW System were provided through the CARES Act, and we appreciate your support. However, with an existing \$123 million shortfall across the System, more financial assistance is needed from the federal government to help keep our campuses across Wisconsin open and serving the state. Additionally, not all students in serious need of economic assistance were able to receive emergency grants.

On April 16, the Board of Regents unanimously approved a policy change that authorizes chancellors to create plans to furlough university employees to offset budget deficits. Several campuses have already announced plans for some level of furlough for hundreds of employees over the coming months – again, a trend we can only expect will continue. Our state's technical colleges have also spent millions of dollars retooling their programs during the COVID-19 crisis and could use additional support.

While UW-Madison is expected to account for the majority of this deficit, the state's other 12 universities and branch campuses are expected to split nearly \$70 million of the remaining losses. While the total revenue losses are lower for the smaller, regional campuses, the impacts will likely be more difficult for these campuses to overcome. Many of these campuses are already facing significant budget constraints and would be less likely to sustain any further cuts.

Last week, Governor Evers announced a 5% budget reduction across state agencies, including the UW System, due to projected revenue losses. This further compounds the financial constraints our campuses are facing, underscoring the need for federal assistance.

Our higher education institutions are an essential foundation and economic driver for our state. Every dollar we invest in our UW System yields \$23 in economic return, and all of our higher education campuses across the state provide crucial training and opportunities for the people of Wisconsin and beyond. We are counting on our Congressional delegation to work together to prioritize robust federal aid to our Wisconsin campuses and students.

Thank you for your consideration and for your commitment to supporting the people of Wisconsin and our higher education institutions during these unprecedented and trying times.

Sincerely,

hatuna Shankland

Katrina Shankland State Representative 71st Assembly District



David Bowen State Representative 10th Assembly District

Jodi Emerson State Representative 91st Assembly District

Staush Gruszynski State Representative 90th Assembly District

Gordon Hintz O State Representative 54th Assembly District

Jimmy Anderson State Representative 47th Assembly District

State Representative 19th Assembly District

Jason Fields State Representative 11th Assembly District

Ala Thebel

Gary Hebl State Representative 46th Assembly District

Debra Kolste State Representative 44th Assembly District

be Breenas

Jill Billings (State Representative 95th Assembly District

Marisabel Cabrera State Representative 9th Assembly District

Evan Goyke State Representative 18th Assembly District

Hemelber hanne

Dianne Hesselbein State Representative 79th Assembly District

Nick Milroy State Representative 73rd Assembly District

hota Mentanes

Greta Neubauer State Representative 66th Assembly District

Tod Ohnstad State Representative 65th Assembly District

: Di

Christine Sinicki State Representative 20th Assembly District

Lisa Sub

State Representative 78th Assembly District

Robyn Vining State Representative 14th Assembly District

Tim

Tim Carpenter ' State Senator 3rd Senate District

red A

Fred Risser State Senator 26th Senate District

Fodd Novak

Todd Novak State Representative 51st Assembly District

Sondy Pope

State Representative 80th Assembly District

Mark Spreitzer

Mark Spreitzer State Representative 45th Assembly District

Amanda Stuck State Representative 57th Assembly District

M Don Vruwink

State Representative 43rd Assembly District

Dave Hansen State Senator 30th Senate District

Smith

State Senator 31st Senate District

Daniel Riemer

Daniel Riemer State Representative 7th Assembly District

Jelissa Sayert

Melissa Sargent State Representative 48th Assembly District

Shelia Stubbs State Representative 77th Assembly District

Chris Taylor

Chris Taylor () State Representative 76th Assembly District

JoCasta Zamarripa State Representative 8th Assembly District

Chris Larson State Senator 7th Assembly District

Lena Taylor

Lena Taylor State Senator 4th Assembly District