Phone: (608) 266-3512 Fax: (608) 282-3541 Sen.Jacque@legis.wi.gov

State Capitol · P.O. Box 7882 Madison, WI 53707-7882

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Senator André Jacque March 2nd, 2020 (608) 266-3512

Sen. Jacque's Prison Safety Legislation Signed into Law

(Madison, WI) Legislation authored by State Senator André Jacque (R – De Pere) at the request of correctional officers and area jail administrators to protect corrections staff, inmate wellbeing, and the overall security of correctional facilities by deterring inmates from possessing contraband, was signed into law Friday afternoon. Act 111 (previously Senate Bill 70) is strongly supported by law enforcement and was approved on voice votes in both legislative chambers with overwhelming bipartisan support.

Senator Jacque remarked, "It's vital that we ensure a safe prison system that allows for the rehabilitation of inmates in a secure environment and protects our correctional officers. Much work remains, but I am grateful for the assistance of those on the front lines who brought this to legislators' attention, and I am honored to have the opportunity to help by eliminating this blatant loophole."

The new law makes it a crime to smuggle contraband into jail for one's own use, closing a frequently exploited loophole. Previously, it was a crime to smuggle contraband into jail with the intention of transferring it to an inmate, but not to smuggle contraband in with the intent of keeping and using it oneself. The intent to transfer was also challenging to prove, and examples of contraband cited by jail staff at the bill's public hearings included handcuff keys, cellphones for carrying on illegal activity, and several items that were later easily fashioned into weapons. The inmate in possession of contraband items such as these was not and could not be held criminally responsible under the prior law.

Senator André Jacque represents Northeast Wisconsin's First Senate District, consisting of Door and Kewaunee Counties and portions of Brown, Calumet, Manitowoc, and Outagamie counties.