

For Immediate Release November 6, 2019
Contact: Rep. Scott Allen (608) 266-8580

## One step closer to reasonable high education progression

Last month, the Wisconsin State Assembly passed 2019 AB 189/SB 165, dealing with higher education credit transfers. In it's floor session yesterday, the Wisconsin State Senate passed the bill, moving the bill forward to its final step in the legislative process.

The bill streamlines the credit transfer methodology between the University of Wisconsin System, Wisconsin Technical Colleges, private colleges and universities, and tribal schools. There are two different credit transfer models used in Wisconsin, which has led to significant confusion. The course-to-course model let students transfer up to 30 credit hours, depending on course guidelines. The program-to-program model allowed for transferring the entirety of learning outcomes.

Unfortunately, the bifurcated model has led to over 600 separate articulation agreements between UW institutions and the Wisconsin Technical College System. At the committee hearing, stakeholders testified that students did not always know which credits would transfer, and that some transferable credits were not properly tracked.

Overall, the legislation more than doubles the total number of transferable course credits from 30 to 72 core general education courses. Furthermore, it requires system faculty to meet twice per year to update which credits are transferable.

"This bill has the potential to bring tremendous benefit to the State of Wisconsin, and we are now one step closer to becoming law. It is a common-sense piece of legislation that everyone can support," said Rep. Allen. "Making credit transfers more efficient has the potential to minimize student loan debt, help students obtain marketable skills sooner, and help grow Wisconsin's workforce. The bottom line is that it increases affordability of and access to higher education."

The bill now goes to the Governor.

###

The 97<sup>th</sup> Assembly District includes portions of the City of Waukesha and the Towns of Waukesha, Genesee, and Mukwonago.