# UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-STOUT OFFICE OF UNIVERSITY COMMUNICATIONS UW-STOUT, MENOMONIE, WIS. 54751

# **NEWS RELEASE**

### **Contacts**

<u>Jerry Poling</u>, Assistant Director, 715-232-2384 <u>Chris Cooper</u>, University Photographer, 715-232-5516 <u>University Communications</u> 715-232-2381 News Center



# Professorships awarded to four faculty members

They will use stipends for professional development, research

### **Story Link**

## Photos attached

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 27, 2019

Menomonie, Wis. — Four professorships have been awarded to faculty members at University of Wisconsin-Stout to help them improve their areas of teaching expertise.

Masako Onodera, an associate professor in the School of Art and Design, has received the Reinhold and Borghild Eng Dahlgren Professorship for 2019-20 and will receive \$8,500. Onodera plans to travel to research the intersections of tradition and innovation; permanence and impermanence; and eastern and western culture.

Pranabendu Mitra, an assistant professor in the food and nutrition department, has received the Mabelle Ranney Price Professorship for 2019-20 and will receive \$2,000. Mitra will do research on extrusion of food processing and new food product development utilizing food industrial byproducts.

Devin Berg, an associate professor in engineering and technology, has received the G.A. Taft Manufacturing Engineering Professorship for 2019-22 and will receive \$27,000. Berg will travel to Peru to do research on open engineering design that focuses on mechatronics and automation applications.

Kristina Gorbatenko-Roth, a professor in the psychology department, has received the Andrew G. Schneider Professorship for 2019-21 and will receive \$24,000. Gorbatenko-Roth plans to research psychosocial issues within dermatology.

The professorships, for which professors must apply, allow faculty to pursue professional development in scholarly or academic areas aligning with the mission of the university. Use of the stipends must meet state guidelines. Award recommendations are made by the Named Professorship Committee and approved by Chancellor Bob Meyer.

Funding for the professorships is through Stout University Foundation and has been approved by the UW System.

### **Dahlgren Professorship**

The Dahlgren Professorship is named after alumni Reinhold and Borghild Eng Dahlgren, husband and wife and 1917 and 1918 graduates, respectively, who left their estate to the university.

## **Price Professorship**

The Mabelle Ranney Price Professorship is named after a 1945 graduate. It recognizes outstanding ability and promise and provides support for the recipient's professional activities. The award is partially sponsored by the College of Education, Hospitality, Health and Human Sciences.

### **Taft Professorship**

The G.A. Taft Manufacturing Engineering Professorship is named in honor of George Albert Taft and was endowed by his daughter, Esther Quinn, and her husband, Robert Quinn. Taft was associated with the Dunn County News in Menomonie before establishing DeLuxe Check Printers in the Twin Cities area.

### **Schneider Professorship**

The Andrew G. Schneider Professorship is named after a former member of the Stout University Foundation Advisory Board. Through a substantial bequest at his death the university purchased the land for the Stout Technology Park. His support and influence led to the establishment of the professorship.

*UW-Stout is Wisconsin's Polytechnic University*, with a focus on applied learning, collaboration with business and industry, and career outcomes.

###

### **Photos**

Masako Onodera

Pranabendu Mitra

Devin Berg

Kristina Gorbatenko-Roth