

Randy R. Koschnick Director of State Courts

Supreme Court of Misconsin

DIRECTOR OF STATE COURTS P.O. BOX 1688 MADISON, WISCONSIN 53701-1688

16 East State Capitol Telephone 608-266-6828 Fax 608-267-0980 Tom Sheehan Court Information Officer

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Tom Sheehan Court Information Officer (608) 261-6640

Wisconsin Supreme Court re-appoints five chief judges

Madison, Wis. (June 13, 2019) – The Wisconsin Supreme Court has re-appointed chief judges to continue in their administrative leadership roles in five of the state's nine judicial administrative districts, effective Aug. 1.

In District One, which encompasses Milwaukee County, the Court re-appointed Chief Judge Maxine A. White, Milwaukee County Circuit Court. White currently serves as the chair of the committee of chief judges, presiding over committee meetings and appointing subcommittee members, among other duties. White was first appointed chief judge in 2015 and was previously re-appointed to a two-year term in 2017. She was first appointed to the Milwaukee County Circuit Court in 1992, was elected in 1993, and has been re-elected four times.

In District Three, the Court re-appointed Chief Judge Jennifer R. Dorow, Waukesha County Circuit Court, to another term as chief judge. Dorow was first appointed chief judge in 2017. She has served on the Waukesha County Circuit Court since being appointed in 2011. She was elected in 2012 and re-elected in 2018. District Three includes Dodge, Jefferson, Ozaukee, Waukesha, and Washington counties.

In District Four, the Court re-appointed Chief Judge Barbara Hart Key, Winnebago County Circuit Court, to a second two-year term as chief judge. Key was first appointed chief judge in 2017. She was first elected to the Winnebago County Circuit Court in 1998 and has been re-elected three times. District Four includes Calumet, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Manitowoc, Marquette, Sheboygan, Winnebago, and Waushara counties.

In District Five, the Court re-appointed Chief Judge William E. Hanrahan, Dane County Circuit Court, to his first two-year term as chief judge. Hanrahan was previously appointed chief judge to fill the remainder of the term of former Chief Judge James P. Daley, who retired from the Rock County Circuit Court last year. Hanrahan has served on the Dane County Circuit Court since first being appointed in 2007. He was elected in 2008 and re-elected in 2014. District Five includes Columbia, Dane, Green, Lafayette, Rock, and Sauk counties.

In District Seven, the Court re-appointed Chief Judge Robert P. VanDeHey, Grant County Circuit Court. He was first appointed chief judge in 2016 to fill the remainder of term of the term of retired Judge James J. Duvall, who served the combined circuit court of Buffalo and Pepin counties. VanDeHey was appointed to Grant County Circuit Court in 1998, was elected in 1999 and has been re-elected three times. District Seven includes Adams, Buffalo, Clark,

Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau, and Vernon counties.

The Supreme Court appoints or re-appoints chief judges who may serve up to three two-year terms as chief judge.

Other circuit court judges currently serving as chief judges include:

District Two: Chief Judge Jason A. Rossell, Kenosha County Circuit Court **District Eight**: Chief Judge James A. Morrison, Marinette County Circuit Court **District Nine**: Chief Judge Gregory B. Huber, Marathon County Circuit Court **District Ten**: Chief Judge Maureen D. Boyle, Barron County Circuit Court

Working as a team with their deputies and district court administrators, chief judges meet throughout the year as a committee to address administrative issues of statewide importance.