

## WISCONSIN LEGISLATURE

P. O. Box 7882 Madison, WI 53707-7882

Governor Scott Walker State of Wisconsin Room 112 East, State Capitol Madison WI 53702

## Dear Governor Walker:

We write today to urge you to act today to make a written request to the Small Business Administration (SBA) for a Disaster Declaration for affected areas of our districts from the recent storms and flooding. It is our understanding that SBA cannot make their emergency programs available until either a Presidential Declaration is made for either individual assistance (FEMA) or public assistance (SBA) or a gubernatorial disaster declaration is made.

The recent 500-year events that have occurred around our state have hit our districts particularly hard. People are suffering, and are unsure of how they will come out of what has occurred. It is the duty of our state to help them as they make their ways through this nightmare.

We understand the need for thorough data collection for the FEMA designation, but feel the general criteria for the SBA Gubernatorial designation of at least 23 homes, businesses or other eligible institutions having sustained uninsured losses of 40 percent or more has clearly been met. Please make the disaster designation for the SBA to at least allow the SBA to begin talking with people about their programs and help that might be available.

We would ask that Dane, Green, Iowa, Rock and Sauk Counties be included in the Declaration.

We would also request that the Administration find funds to help deeply affected homeowners and communities. There are a number of fire departments in our districts that face serious financial situations to repair their buildings and to get their vehicles and equipment back up and running. In many situations, loans are not going to be the panacea for these entities. They are in need of grant opportunities. We implore your administration to make funding available to them.

Thank you in advance for your consideration of our requests. We look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

JON ERPENBACH State Senator 27<sup>th</sup> District

N Expendent

FRED RISSER State Senator 26<sup>th</sup> District JANIS RINGHAND State Senator 15<sup>th</sup> District Dave Considere

Danne Henelbein

DAVE CONSIDINE State Representative 81<sup>st</sup> District Feren Berneau

THERESE BERCEAU State Representative 77<sup>th</sup> District Jebra Kalste

DEBRA KOLSTE

State Representative

44<sup>th</sup> District

DIANNE HESSELBEIN State Representative

79<sup>th</sup> District

LISA SUBECK State Representative 78<sup>th</sup> District Mark Spreitzer

MARK SPREITZER State Representative 45<sup>th</sup> District

SONDY POPE State Representative 80<sup>th</sup> District CHRIS TAYLOR State Representative 76<sup>th</sup> District DON VRUWINK State Representative 43<sup>rd</sup> District

JE.tk

Cc: Local Elected Officials