

Department of Civil Rights

Norman D. Davis, Director Byron Bishop, EOD Manager Equal Opportunities Division 210 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard, Room 523 Madison, Wisconsin 53703 PH 608 266 4910 FAX 608 266 6514

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Run through May 26, 2017 Contact person: Byron Bishop at (608) 266-4721 or <u>bbishop@cityofmadison.com</u>

Nominations Sought for Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award

The Department of Civil Rights - Equal Opportunities Division is seeking nominations for the Twentieth Annual Reverend James C. Wright Human Rights Award. Nominations are due on May 26, 2017 and the award will be presented at the Common Council Meeting on June 20, 2017. The award honors the late Reverend James C. Wright who served as Executive Director of the Equal Opportunities Commission from its inception in 1968 until his retirement in 1992. The award is given to an individual who best exemplifies Rev. Wright's dedication and compassion for civil and human rights and conducts their daily life consistent with these values.

Nominees should share Rev. Wright's dedication to and compassion for civil and human rights and conduct their daily life consistent with these values. Recipients may be an adult, youth, or organization in the Madison Metropolitan area whose work has impacted the City of Madison. They must be or have been actively involved in providing leadership in grassroots-type effort(s) that is/are related to civil or human rights. Award nominee(s) must have demonstrated a long-term commitment to civil or human rights in the Madison community or elsewhere as well as a commitment and dedication to treating people with respect and dignity.

Past recipients: Jacqueline Wright, 1996; Dr. Richard H. Harris, 1997; Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, 1998; Helen Vukelich, 1999; Anthony "Nino" Amato, 2000; John Noreika Sr., 2001; Dr. John Y. Odom, 2002; Peter Muñoz, 2003; Earnestine Moss, 2004; Jonathan "Jon" Gramling, 2005; Agnes Gutierrez Cammer, 2006; Jeffery Erlanger, 2007; Dr. Richard Davis, 2008; Darlene Hancock, 2009; Alfonso Studesville, 2010; Richard V. Brown Sr. in 2011; Colleen Butler in 2012 and Charlestine "Charlie" Daniels in 2013, Dr. Floyd Rose in 2014; Anthony Timmons in 2015 and Annette Miller in 2016.

Please contact Byron Bishop at <u>bbishop@cityofmadison.com</u>, (608) 266-4721 or visit our website at <u>www.cityofmadison.com/dcr</u> for additional information, award criteria, and nomination forms.