Wisconsin’s delegation to the Republican National Convention in Florida next month includes newly minted UW System Interim President Tommy Thompson, former Gov. Scott Walker and the Legislature’s top GOP leaders.

In addition to Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald, R-Juneau, and Assembly Speaker Robin Vos, state Sens. Dan Feyen, of Fond du Lac, and Howard Marklein, of Spring Green, are among the delegates.

Reps. Tyler August, of Lake Geneva, and John Nygren, of Marinette, are among the alternates. Altogether, the party is sending 52 delegates and another 49 alternates.

Republicans moved the national convention to Jacksonville, Fla., after a dispute between the president’s campaign and North Carolina leaders over safeguards in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. This week, Jacksonville issued a mandate requiring masks for public and indoor locations where individuals can’t meet social distancing requirements.

The convention’s business will still be conducted in Charlotte, while the president will accept the nomination in Jacksonville.

A party spokeswoman said three to six members of the delegation will travel between Jacksonville and Charlotte.

Meanwhile, the Democratic National Convention in Milwaukee has moved to a largely virtual affair with the national party telling state delegations to stay home.

The state’s allotment of delegates is up from 42 four years ago. The party said that’s due to Trump winning the state’s electoral votes in 2016.

Others on the list of delegates include: former U.S. Rep. Sean Duffy and his wife, Rachel Campos-Duffy; former state party Chair Brad Courtney; former Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch; former first lady Tonette Walker; and former state Sen. Leah Vukmir.

See the full list here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email