Contact:  Rep. James Edming
(608) 266-7506

Bruce, Chetek-Weyerhaeuser, and Edgar School Districts awarded grants

EAU CLAIRE – Representative James Edming (R-Glen Flora) joined school officials and members of law enforcement as Attorney General Brad Schimel announced additional School Safety Grant awards today in Eau Claire.  Among the grants announced today were three to school districts serving students in the 87th Assembly District:

  • Bruce School District – $56,312
  • Chetek-Weyerhaeuser Area School District – $50,604
  • Edgar School District – $58,618

“I am thrilled to see three more school districts serving the 87th Assembly District awarded School Safety Grants,” said Rep. Edming.  “These needed resources will help these schools better protect their students, teachers, and staff.”

Including the three school districts receiving grants today, nineteen schools and school districts serving the 87th Assembly District have received a School Safety Grant so far. The $100 million School Safety Grant Program was created by 2017 Act 143 and is administered by the Office of School Safety at the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ). Over $30 million in funding has already been awarded through this grant program with additional awards expected.  A full list of all 735 schools and school districts that have submitted School Safety Grant applications can be found on the DOJ website.

“Creating the School Safety Grant Program was one of the biggest accomplishments from this past legislative session,” said Rep. Edming.  “I am proud to have supported the legislation to create this program and the positive impact it is having on schools around the 87th District.”

Also, last week Attorney General Schimel announced the next phase of School Safety Grants which will focus on initiatives to improve student mental health. According to the DOJ, approximately $45 million is expected to be available for the second phase of grants. The DOJ encourages public and private K-12 schools to apply for this next round of grants which are expected to start being awarded in October.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email