Contact: Tom Evenson, (608) 266-2839

MADISON – Governor Scott Walker today announced 18 individuals, businesses, and organizations as recipients of the 2017 Governor’s Financial Literacy Award, as selected by the Governor’s Council on Financial Literacy.

“These individuals and organizations are to be commended for their dedication to helping citizens of all ages enhance their personal financial knowledge and skills,” Governor Walker said. “Financial literacy is about equipping people with the tools they need to be financially secure and achieve their goals.”

The recipients will be honored at a ceremony at the Capitol later this year. They were selected from 29 nominations submitted for consideration. Criteria considered during the screening process included innovative implementation, demonstrated measurable results, collaboration with partners, and whether the effort was focused on needs-based groups.

Recipients of the 2017 Governor’s Financial Literacy Awards are:

Individual Category:

Aaron Keith Bender, teacher, Hurley School District
Brenda Campbell, President and CEO, SecureFutures, Milwaukee
Cherie Hellenbrand, Mary Breunig, Shane Leadholm and Holden Pratt, teachers, Middleton High School
Kristi Paskey and Mitch Hauser, teachers, Lodi High School
Joe Schlidt, SecureFutures Investment Conference, Milwaukee

Organization Category:

Educators Credit Union, Sturtevant
National Institute of Financial and Economic Literacy, Madison
Sallie Mae, “Dee-1’s Knowledge for College Tour,” Newark, Delaware
UW-Extension Family Living Program, Madison
WaterStone Bank, Wauwatosa
Wisconsin Coalition on Student Debt Inc., Madison

Legacy Category:

It Make$ Cents!, Money Management Center, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
Kevin McKinley, financial adviser, Eau Claire
Timothy G. O’Driscoll, Director, Center for Economic Education, Lakeland University, Milwaukee

The Legacy Award is given to an organization, business, or individual whose purpose and heritage is ingrained in sustained financial literacy and capability. This lifetime recognition is intended to be conferred once to the recipients. Synopses of the recipients’ efforts can be found on the Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) website here.

The Governor’s Council on Financial Literacy was created by Executive Order #24 and held its inaugural meeting in April of 2011. The mission of the Council is to measurably improve the financial literacy of Wisconsin citizens. Council members include:

Chair – William Wilcox, MCE, President of CBM Credit Education Foundation, Inc., Madison.
Co-Vice Chair – Jay Risch, Secretary of the Department of Financial Institutions (DFI).
Co-Vice Chair – Ted Nickel, Commissioner of the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance.
Executive Director – David Mancl, Director of DFI’s Office of Financial Literacy.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email