Contact: Amy Hasenberg, (608) 266-2839
MADISON – Governor Scott Walker announced today that Carolyn Stanford Taylor, from the Division of Learning Support in the Department of Public Instruction, was the winner of the 2018 Virginia Hart Special Recognition Award. The award was given in honor of Virginia Hart, Wisconsin’s first female cabinet member.

“The Virginia Hart Special Recognition Award honors the exemplary women working in state government,” said Governor Walker. “We are honored to present Carolyn Stanford Taylor with the 35th Annual Virginia Hart Special Recognition Award. Carolyn has shown her commitment to the State of Wisconsin and our communities through her work with the Department of Public Instruction. Thank you to Stanford and all of the women who serve our state each and every day.”

Ms. Stanford Taylor was honored at a ceremony in the Senate Parlor at the State Capitol this afternoon.  During the ceremony, Department of Administration Secretary Ellen Nowak praised the contributions of Virginia Hart, and congratulated Ms. Stanford Taylor on her award.

Six other employees received honorable mention at the ceremony.  These employees include Julie Avila, Department of Justice, Jonelle Brom, Department of Children and Families, Rhonda Madge, Department of Workforce Development, Kathy Schmitt and Sara Walling, Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, and Sandra Villiesse, Department of Transportation.

Virginia Hart served as Secretary of the Department of Regulation and Licensing, chairperson of the Department of Industry, Labor and Human Relations, and as chairperson of the Labor and Industry Review Commission. Upon her retirement from state service in 1983, friends and colleagues established a fund in her name to annually recognize a woman for her substantial contribution to Wisconsin state service.

The Virginia Hart Award is administered by DOA-Division of Personnel Management.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email