CONTACT:  Jonathan Barry, Executive Secretary (608) 266-8369

MADISON – The Board of Commissioners of Public Lands (BCPL) today approved nearly $2 million in State Trust Fund Loans to support nine community projects in Wisconsin.  Board Chair Brad Schimel and Commissioner Doug La Follette voted in favor of the loans with Commissioner Matt Adamczyk voting against them.

The BCPL approved the following loans:

  • Town of Brooklyn, Green County / Finance roadwork / $150,000
  • Village of Elk Mound, Dunn County / Purchase skidsteer / $40,000
  • Town of Holland, La Crosse County / Finance fire truck / $286,959.67
  • Hortonville Area School District, Outagamie County / Finance athletic field renovation / $980,000
  • Town of Knapp, Jackson County / Finance highway reconstruction / $100,000
  • Town of Mercer, Iron County / Purchase tractor / $35,000
  • Village of Pepin, Pepin County / Finance road projects / $165,000
  • Town of Rutland, Dane County / Finance capital equipment and roadwork / $140,000
  • Town of Wellington, Monroe County / Finance road and bridge projects / $75,000

The BCPL operates entirely on program revenue, without taxpayer money, and distributes more than 96 cents of every dollar of interest earned on BCPL State Trust Fund investments to Wisconsin’s public schools.  The 2018 earnings of $35.7 million provide the sole source of state funding for K‑12 public school library materials.

A list of 2018 library aid received by each public school district is available at: (

Established in 1848 by the State Constitution, the BCPL consists of the Secretary of State Doug La Follette, State Treasurer Matt Adamczyk, and Attorney General Brad Schimel.  The BCPL manages the Common School Fund, which was created in Article X of Wisconsin’s Constitution, as a permanent endowment to benefit public education.

To learn more about the agency, visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email