Tom Evenson
(608) 266-2839

MADISON – Governor Scott Walker asked the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to declare Barron and Rusk counties a disaster area due to damages caused by last month’s EF 3 tornado. The SBA declaration would provide low-interest federal loans to homeowners, renters and businesses that suffered damage.

“We know the victims are trying to rebuild their homes and businesses that were damaged or destroyed by the tornado,” Governor Walker said. “The SBA declaration would be another program available to help them recover with low-interest loans.” 

One person was killed and 25 people were injured when the EF 3 tornado hit on May 16, 2017. The tornado traveled 83 miles in four Wisconsin counties. Hardest hit areas were in Barron and Rusk counties. This week, the SBA verified 59 homes and businesses were destroyed or heavily damaged in the tornado.

If Barron and Rusk counties are declared a disaster area, the contiguous counties of Burnett, Chippewa, Dunn, Polk, Price, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor and Washburn would also be part of the declaration. SBA offers home and personal property loans, business physical disaster loans, and economic injury disaster loans.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email