Contact: Jonathan Barry, Executive Secretary
(608) 266-8369

Madison, Wisconsin — The Board of Commissioners of Public Lands (BCPL) today approved nearly $15 million in State Trust Fund Loans to support fourteen community projects in Wisconsin.  Board Chair Brad Schimel and Commissioner Doug La Follette voted in favor of the loans with Commissioner Matt Adamczyk voting against them.

The BCPL approved the following loans:

  • Baraboo School District, Columbia and Sauk Counties / Finance high school renovation and construction / $1,960,000
  • Town of Chimney Rock, Trempealeau County / Finance 2016 and 2017 floor repairs, $300,000
  • Clark County / Finance road construction / $1,800,000
  • City of Green Bay, Brown County / Finance neighborhood redevelopment / $500,000
  • Town of Harrison, Grant County / Finance roadwork / $350,000
  • Village of Kohler, Sheboygan County / Finance capital equipment and street projects / $610,000
  • City of Menomonie, Dunn County / Finance TID #15 development expenses / $500,000
  • City of Monroe, Green County / Finance TID #9 land acquisition / $1,850,000
  • Village of Pewaukee, Waukesha County / Purchase dump/plow truck / $195,000
  • City of Sun Prairie, Dane County / Finance infrastructure projects / $3,700,000
  • Trempealeau County / Finance road construction / $1,840,600
  • Trempealeau County / Purchase squad vehicles / $132,000
  • Trempealeau County / Finance courthouse upgrades / $757,760
  • Village of Whiting, Portage County / Finance roadwork and associated utility costs / $350,000

The BCPL operates entirely on program revenue, without taxpayer money, and distributes more than 96 cents of every dollar of interest earned on BCPL State Trust Fund investments to Wisconsin’s public schools.  The 2017 earnings of $32.1 million provide the sole source of state funding for K‑12 public school library materials.

A list of 2017 library aid received by each public school district is available at: (

Established in 1848 by the State Constitution, the BCPL consists of the Secretary of State Doug La Follette, State Treasurer Matt Adamczyk, and Attorney General Brad Schimel.  The BCPL manages the Common School Fund, which was created in Article X of Wisconsin’s Constitution, as a permanent endowment to benefit public education.

To learn more about the agency, visit

# # #

Print Friendly, PDF & Email